Writing bureau upcycle project (before)

As we’re buying our house from a relative, we’ve inherited a few pieces of furniture. Most of these (brown velvet sofas being a prime example) have had to go, but there are a couple of things we’ve decided to keep.

I originally had this bureau for sale on Ebay as I wasn’t really keen on the look of it:

Image

 However, when I took pictures with the doors open I started to realise what an interesting and unusual piece it is.

Image

I therefore decided to add it to my list of upcycle projects. I spoke to Jan who owns Beti Biggs in Cardiff (If you live nearby – go there!) and she has suggested painting the outside with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint and then adding some stencils to break up the large surface area. I haven’t decided on colours or a stencil pattern yet but I’ll post a pic when it’s done.

Leave a comment