Choosing Metro tiles for the kitchen

Once we had chosen our IKEA Laxarby kitchen in black we started to think about tiles and a colour scheme to offset the dark cupboards and bring some light into the room.

I fell in love with a few different tiles before we settled on the white Metro design:

These ‘Dotty mixture’ tiles are available in a range of colours and would look beautiful in a country style kitchen. You can buy them online from Decorum Tiles but we first saw them in Leeks. Unfortunately, when I was told the price  I nearly fainted and had to admit defeat.

Next on my wishlist were these slightly more affordable Artisan tiles from Laura Ashley:

Tiles

Although I really love these tiles I couldn’t decide between duck egg blue and  Eau De Nil (pictured above).

In the end we decided to go for white metro tiles as they offer the most versatility when it comes to decorating. If we decide to change our kitchen colour scheme in the future we can repaint without the colour of our tiles factoring in our decision.

So we made a decision, hoorah! I then spent days agonising over which metro tiles to choose. I found loads of great blog post about them but no one seemed to be saying where they got them from or which size they went for!

Standard metro tiles are 20 X 10cm,  Crown Tiles seemed to be the cheapest place to buy them at £9.38 p/sqm. This image shows some standard metro tiles I found in B&Q to give an idea of scale.metro-tiles

As the name suggests, mini metro tiles are smaller than the standard range and measure 15 X 7.5cm. It was mini metro tiles that IKEA used with our kitchen in their showroom. We only want a 30cm splashback above the worktop, except behind the cooker, so the painted wall will be visible under the wall cabinates. Mini metro tiles allow us to have 4 rows of tiles in the same space that 3 rows of standard tiles would take up.

20141230_113518

I suffered some extreme kitchen envy when I saw this post on Kate Davies website.Metro-tiles She has used standard metro tiles, but the tiles go much further up the wall than ours will and she doesn’t have any wall cabinets – a look I would have loved if our kitchen was bigger.

One thing I did take away from reading about Kate’s kitchen was the importance of a good grout colour. I knew grout came in white and black but that was about it. Kate has gone for a ‘mid grey’ which looks lovely. We plan to use ‘smoke’ by Micromax, which is available from lots of high-street and online suppliers.

After lots of visits to various highstreet DIY shops and pinterest searching, we decided to go with mini metro tiles from Walls and floors. They were more than double the price of standard metro tiles at £19.95 p/sqm but I think they will be worth it. I have to say I would buy from Walls and floors again. The delivery was quick and so far they all seem to have arrived in one piece.

Leave a Reply

